Impromptu Dinner

Edamame-Corn-Quinoa Salad

Do you ever find that it’s 6:00 pm and you have plenty of food in the house but NO idea what to eat for dinner?  When that happens to me, I often resort to Google.  By punching a few ingredients into a search engine, I usually find something that I can make with what I have on hand.  I used that strategy the other night and found this:

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/14/health/nutrition/14recipehealth.html

It didn’t quite fit the bill, but it gave me a spark of inspiration!

First, I cooked 1 cup of quinoa in 1 cup of coconut milk (leftover from that frosting I made the other day) and 1 cup of water with a dash of salt and a dash of pepper.  To cook quinoa, just bring it to a boil, cover and turn down the heat to low, then let simmer for 20 minutes or until the liquid is absorbed.  It turns out that coconut quinoa is absolutely delicious.  The coconut flavor was subtle, but it made the quinoa sweet and fluffy.

While the quinoa was cooking, I measured 1 cup of frozen, shelled edamame and 1 cup of frozen corn into a bowl and set them aside to thaw a bit.  I diced 3 small carrots and 1/4 of a yellow onion (but red onion would have been more delicious) and threw them into the bowl.

Then, I mixed together a dressing using the juice of one lime, 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of chili-garlic sauce, 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger, and salt and pepper to taste.

When my quinoa was cooked, I mixed it with the veggies.  The hot quinoa helped to warm up the frozen veggies (and the frozen veggies cooled down the quinoa).  Then, I tossed the mixture with the dressing.  Some fresh cilantro would have been a lovely garnish.

This was easy, colorful, and fresh.  It was the perfect thing to enjoy while I watched the premiere of season 2 of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution.

By the way, I am pretty much in love with Jamie Oliver:

He may not be vegan, but he IS adorable, and he is trying to bring fresh, healthy food to the masses.  The English accent doesn’t hurt either.

Anyway, back to the quinoa salad…

Quinoa: $1.2o

Coconut Milk: $0.65

Edamame: $1.33

Corn: $1.23

Carrots: $0.25

Onion: $0.22

Lime: $0.17

Olive oil: $0.78

Chili sauce: $0.03

=$5.86

It made 4 generous servings, so that comes to only:

$1.47 per serving!

The cold leftovers made great, easy lunches.

2 responses to “Impromptu Dinner

  1. I like Jamie Oliver’s show as well, yeah not vegan but society as whole won’t listen to that right now anyway. He is at least bringing health & knowledge and that’s a great start point!! This salad looks delicious & easy!! Can’t wait to try it 😀

Leave a Reply

