Another Creation from Leftovers

Coconut-Curry Tempeh

A little bit of creativity can go a long way in saving money, because you don’t ever want to let leftover ingredients go to waste.  I combined the 1/2 package of tempeh left from my Tempeh with 40 Cloves of Garlic and the 1/2 can of coconut milk left after making the frosting for my Easter carrot cake with some other things I had lying around the kitchen in order to make a nice, comforting Tempeh Curry.

I started by sauteeing 1/2 onion (sliced) in a tablespoon of oil in a saucepan.  Then I threw in a chopped clove of garlic and a teaspoon of dried crushed red pepper.  I cooked that for about a minute, then added 1/4 pound cubed tempeh.  I cooked the tempeh on medium heat, stirring occasionally, until browned.  Meanwhile, I cooked a potato in the microwave (stabbed a bunch of holes in it with a fork, then nuked it for about 3 minutes), let it cool a little, cubed it, then threw it into the pan.  I let that cook for a minute, then I dumped 1/2 can of coconut milk and 1 can of crushed tomatoes into the pan, along with 2 tablespoons of good quality curry powder and salt/pepper to taste.  I let that all simmer for about 10 minutes, adjusted the seasoning, and then served it on top of some leftover brown rice, garnished with a whole bunch of fresh cilantro.  Yum.

  • 1/2 onion: $0.40
  • tablespoon of oil: $0.05
  • clove of garlic: $0.05
  • crushed red pepper: $0.02
  • 1/4 pound cubed tempeh: $1.35
  • potato: $0.83
  • 1/2 can of coconut milk: $0.65
  • 1 can of crushed tomatoes: $1.20
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder: $0.10
  • fresh cilantro: $0.25

Total: $4.90

This made 2 very hearty servings for me, which comes to…

$2.45/serving

Have you ever used leftover ingredients in a creative way?  Please share your ideas in the comments.

Leave a Reply

