Comfort Soup

Potato-Leek Soup for One

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind as I’ve worked hard to get all of my students’ papers and tests graded and also faced some emotional issues in my personal life.  Luckily, cooking and eating nutritious vegan food always makes me feel at least a little bit better.  I have made the time to prepare some good, easy recipes recently, and I’m going to work to get my posts here up to date.  I think it’s safe to say that I’ll have more time to post over the summer.  Of course, that’s when the best produce is available and the daylight lingers long into the evening hours, making for great photographs of fresh, lovely dinners.

Recently, on a rainy Sunday, I wanted something warm and comforting for lunch.  Luckily, I just happened to have a leek left from making my Tempeh with 40 Cloves of Garlic.  I also happened to have a bag of potatoes.  The logical course of action was to create a potato-leek soup.

I started by chopping the white and green parts of one leek, which I sauteed in about 1 tablespoon of oil with a couple of cloves of garlic in a saucepan.  Meanwhile, I peeled and cubed one potato and threw it into the pan.

I covered the veggies with water (about 2 cups) and threw in a veggie bouillon cube (I was out of homemade veggie broth).  I brought that to a boil, reduced the heat, and let it simmer for about 20 minutes (until the potatoes were tender).

Next, I got out my handy-dandy immersion blender and pureed the soup right in the pan (you could also dump it CAREFULLY into your food processor or blender).  I then stirred in about 1/4 cup soy milk and some salt/pepper to taste.

aaaannnnddddd…..voila: one lovely bowl of potato-leek soup:


  • leek: $1.00
  • 1 tablespoon of oil: $0.05
  • couple of cloves of garlic: $0.10
  • one potato: $0.83
  • a veggie bouillon cube: $0.38
  • 1/4 cup soy milk: $0.10

Total: $2.46

Leave a Reply

