Copycat Breakfast Burritos

I crave protein in the morning, but a lot of vegetarian breakfast options are sweet/starchy.  That’s why Amy’s Breakfast Burritos are one of my favorites, but at $2.50-$3.00 a piece, the cost can really add up.  Recently, I tried my hand at making my own version.

I started by reading the ingredients on an Amy’s Breakfast Burrito wrapper, then I purchased my ingredients.  Obviously, I had to estimate the amounts.  I decided to go with a jalapeno pepper instead of bell pepper, but you can always adjust the recipe to your own spice preference.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound extra-firm tofu
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1 potato
  • 1 28-oz can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 14-oz can black beans
  • 6 whole-wheat tortillas

My main concern was preventing the burritos from being soggy, so I started by draining my tofu.  I sliced it in half lengthwise and wrapped half in a clean dishcloth:

Since I was only using half for this recipe, I stored the other half in a container of water in the fridge until I was ready to use it for something else.  Then I placed a cutting board on top of my wrapped tofu and put a can on top of it for about 30 minutes to gently squeeze out most of the water.

  • Meanwhile, I sauteed the onion, garlic, and jalapeno in a little oil.
  • Next, I cut the drained tofu into cubes and added it to the pan and cooked it over medium-low heat until nice and brown (about 20 minutes).
  • Then, I drained the beans well and added those.
  • I drained the tomatoes, saving the juice for soup, and added those.
  • I stabbed several holes in the potato with a fork, then microwaved it for about 4 minutes.  I let it cool, peeled and cubed it, then added it to the mix.
  • I cooked all of this together for another 10 minutes or so, until the flavors melded.   Then I divided the mixture between the tortillas.

Next, I folded up the tortillas, wrapped each one in Saran wrap, put them all in a gallon-sized Ziploc bag, and stored them in the freezer for busy mornings.  In the morning, I pulled one out, wrapped it in a paper towel, and microwaved it for about 1 minute on each side.

  • 1/2 pound extra-firm tofu: $1.40
  • 1 onion: $0.33
  • 2 cloves garlic: $0.10
  • 1 jalapeno pepper: $0.56
  • 1 potato: $0.28
  • 1 28-oz can  fire-roasted tomatoes: $3.39
  • 1 14-oz can black beans: $1.99
  • 6 whole-wheat tortillas: $2.59

=$10.64 /6 servings =$1.77/burrito

So, if the average cost is $2.50 at the supermarket, I saved $4.38 by making 6 burritos at home.  If I ate one of these every day, I would save $266.45 over the course of the year (versus buying them at the store).  Not bad.  And, of course, I made these with all-organic ingredients from the co-op.  If you bought non-organic ingredients at the supermarket, you could make it even cheaper.

The best part is that you can tailor this recipe to your own taste.  It would be really good with a sweet potato or squash instead of a white potato.  You could also add other veggies like spinach or mushrooms.  The possibilities are endless.



Leave a Reply

