Watermelon Sorbet

I actually made this recipe at the beginning of the summer but forgot to blog it right away.


It’s been a good, busy summer.  Obviously, I’ve been out of town for a good portion of it, and the rest of the time I’ve been working a lot.  Even though it’s officially September now, today is one of the last truly hot days of the season, so it’s the perfect day to share this lovely recipe for watermelon sorbet:

http://www.inmamaskitchen.com/RECIPES/RECIPES/DESSERT2/ICED/watermel_sorbet.html

I made this as directed, except that I added 1 tablespoon of vodka to keep it from freezing too hard. 😉

What had happened was that I eagerly bought a watermelon too early in the season, and it tasted awful.  Not wanting it to go to waste, I decided to turn it into something sweet and Googled “watermelon sorbet recipes.”  My Dad was impressed.  He had bought one of those same bad watermelon at the same local grocery store, but he had thrown his away.  He congratulated me for “turning lemons into lemonade” so to speak.

I’m trying to get caught up on my backlog of unblogged food photos right now, so hopefully you’ll see LOTS of nostalgic end-of-summer posts in the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

