Fiesta Black Bean Soup in the Crock Pot

When I made this for Wednesday night dinner with my BFF this week, I was reminded of why this is one of my all-time favorite recipes. 

It’s easy; it’s nutritious; it smells good when you come home from work; it’s comforting and delicious; plus, of course, it’s CHEAP!  Dried beans require a little bit of planning ahead because it’s best to soak them overnight before cooking, but they’re definitely worthwhile.  They’re probably the best bargain in the supermarket.

Here’s the recipe:

http://www.food.com/recipe/festive-black-bean-soup-in-the-crock-pot-238171

This time around I added a couple of hot peppers from Troy and Sarah’s garden.  That was a good addition.  As always, you can add any veggies you like.  Carrots would be good. Also, I pureed about half of the beans with my handy immersion blender.

  • 1 pound of dried black beans: $1.29
  • 2 (10 ounce) cans of tomatoes with green chiles: $1.78
  • 1 onion: $0.75
  • 1 green bell pepper: $0.99
  • 1 large clove of garlic: $0.05
  • 14 ounces of vegetable broth: homemade from scraps
  • seasoning: about $0.10

…all from my local 24-hour grocery store.  I probably could have made this even cheaper if I had shopped at a discount store, like Aldi or Trader Joe’s.

= $4.96 /8 servings

=$0.62/serving!

These days, that is cheaper than Nissin’s Cup Noodles!  And which would you rather have?  The black bean soup will keep you full with 13 grams of protein and 9 grams of fiber, while only providing 215 calories and 288 mg of sodium (less if you make your own broth).  The Cup Noodles, on the other hand, will give you only 5.6 g of protein and 2 grams of fiber with 290 calories and a whopping 1480 mg of sodium!  Yikes!

By the way, I also made corn muffins, but they were accidentally not vegan.  I used Jiffy brand corn bread mix, prepared with Ener G egg replacer and soy milk.  Later I read the ingredients and discovered that Jiffy corn bread mix contains lard.  You would think that by now I would know better than to skim ingredient lists, but I’m also not the kind of vegan who feels like all of my good, conscious eating is derailed by a trace amount of lard.  It seems silly to me when omnivores sit around telling tales of vegetarians they knew who unwittingly ate animal products (you would be surprised how often this happens).  Anyway, oops.

Leave a Reply

