Tofu, Mushroom, and Pea Shoot Stir Fry

Here’s a creation that I meant to blog before leaving for California:

If you remember my post from my first trip to California this summer, then you can imagine how excited I was to find pea shoots at Trader Joe’s here in town.

First I thought of stir-frying them with some sliced garlic, like they do at Ton Kiang in San Francisco, but then I decided to make a whole one-dish meal out of them by stir frying them with some tofu and mushrooms, also inspired by a dish at Ton Kiang.

I started by sauteing in a large wok:

  • 1 tablespoon fresh, minced ginger and
  • 3 cloves sliced garlic in
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil

Then I added:

  • 1/2 pound cubed firm tofu

and stir fried it over medium-low heat until browned, about 20 minutes.  Then I threw in

  • 1/2 pound sliced shiitake mushrooms:

and stir fried until tender, about 5 more minutes. Finally, I added:

  • 4 ounces pea shoots
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon rice wine vinegar

…and cooked it for another few minutes, until the pea shoots were just wilted.  I served this over brown rice with a nice, hot cup of green tea.

This was a super simple but satisfying combination of flavors.

  • 1 tablespoon fresh, minced ginger: $0.25
  • 3 cloves sliced garlic: $0.15
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil: $0.13
  • 1/2 pound cubed firm tofu: $0.90
  • 1/2 pound sliced shiitake mushrooms: $2.69
  • 4 ounces pea shoots: $2.49
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce: $0.18
  • 1/2 tablespoon rice wine vinegar: $0.04
  • Brown rice: $0.65

= $7.48/4 servings

=$1.87/serving

Try getting take-out for that price!

Leave a Reply

