Peanut Sauce!

Last week for Wednesday night dinner, my BFF suggested stir fry.  I picked up a clam-shell package of fresh, pre-chopped stir-fry veggies from Trader Joe’s for just $3.99.  She brought over rice noodles and tofu.  This gave me an excuse to try out our friend Maria’s peanut sauce recipe, which she had made for us when we visited her in Denver.  It was super easy and delicious:

Maria’s Peanut Sauce

  • 3/4 cup quality natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup boiling water (or to taste, depending on how thick/thin you want it)
  • 3 tbsp. rice wine or cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. freshly peeled and minced ginger (although I often make mine without)
  • 1 tbsp. freshly peeled and minced garlic (or more, if you’re a garlic fiend like me)
  • 2 tsp. red chile flakes (or to taste)
  • 1 tbsp. tamari or soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. coriander powder (or, if it’s handy, finely-chopped cilantro)

“Just mix ’em all together!  No cooking required! (Although for my tofu stir-fry recipe, I like to let the tofu/veggies sit with the sauce in a heated pan, just so the flavors mix up.)”

I used candied ginger, because that was just what I had.  I left out the coriander, because I seem to be out of it, and I at least doubled the water.

Obviously, peanut butter is one of the cheapest sources of protein, and it’s something that I ALWAYS have in the house, so this recipe could really come in handy in a pinch.  Thanks, Maria!

2 responses to “Peanut Sauce!

  1. This sounds so good! I’m new to your blog and just read your “About” page. You reference Food.com. Do you ever post in the Vegetarian/Vegan forum?

    • Thanks, Kathy, and welcome! I used to post there quite a bit (username: Prose), but as I’ve gotten busier with my blog I’ve been neglecting Food.com. The ladies on the Vegetarian/Vegan forum are so sweet, though. I should make more effort to check in there once in a while.

Leave a Reply

