Sweet Potato Spread

Mmmm…this sweet potato spread was even better than I hoped!  It’s true comfort food.

http://vegetariansalmon.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/sweet-potato-spread/

As usual, I did make a few minor modifications to the recipe.  I cooked the sweet potato in the microwave for about 4 minutes instead of in the oven.  I used chopped, cooked broccoli instead of spinach, because that was the green veggie I happened to have.  Plus, I added about 1/4 cup of toasted sesame seeds for extra protein and crunch.  Next time I will try it with the spinach and double the recipe.

  • olive oil: $0.05
  • 1 large sweet potato: $0.66
  • 1 cup of cooked broccoli, finely chopped: $0.76
  • 1/4 cup of onion: $0.08
  • 1/4 tsp cumin: $0.03
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder: $0.03
  • 1 tablespoon tahini: $0.04
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds: $0.33

=$2.06/3 servings

=$0.69/serving + $0.16/slice whole wheat bread

= $0.85 for one open-faced sandwich!  WOW! 

That’s cheaper than anything from the McDonald’s Value Menu and WAY more delicious.  It didn’t take any more time to throw this together and spread it on some toast than it would have to go through the drive-thru three days in a row.

Thank you to my friend DeAnna for suggesting this and to my fellow WordPress blogger at the vegetarian salmon for posting it.

Leave a Reply

