Smoky Split-Pea and Veggie Soup

I’ve been busy grading papers and mostly eating junk for the last several weeks, but today I decided to take a break in order to post about a nice autumnal comfort that I made recently.

When I was in California, we kept seeing billboards for a place called Pea Soup Andersen’s.  We didn’t actually go there, but I wondered aloud if their soup would be vegetarian, and Noor wondered how one would make up for the smoky, porky flavor.  I thought about this again when the weather started to get cold back here in the Midwest, and, of course, I Googled it.  First of all, it looks like Pea Soup Andersen’s recipe IS vegetarian/vegan.  I’ll have to go there some day.  Secondly, I found a discussion board where somebody suggested using a pinch of smoked paprika in veggie pea soup. GENIUS!  And being part Hungarian, I just happened to have some good-quality smoked paprika on hand.  Then, one day, coming out of Trader Joe’s, it hit me like a flash of lightning that broccoli would go really nicely with the flavor of split peas.  With these inspirations in mind, I created the following recipe:

Smoky Split Pea and Veggie Soup

  • 1 pound dry green split peas
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 3 ribs of celery, chopped
  • 1 potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1 head of broccoli, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 6 cups of homemade veggie broth
  • 2 teaspoons thyme
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon marjoram
  • 1 teaspoon good-quality smoked paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • lemon wedges and extra paprika for garnish

This is Easy PEA-sy!  Just throw everything in your slow cooker, add a little water, if necessary, to cover.  Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4-5 hours (or cook it on your stove for an hour or two).  Blend with your immersion blender (or VERY CAREFULLY in a regular blender or food processor).  Then, sprinkle with extra paprika and garnish with lemon wedges.  Serve with crusty bread.  I can’t imagine anything more comforting on a dreary day!

  • 1 pound dry green split peas: $0.97
  • 3 carrots, chopped: $0.25
  • 3 ribs of celery, chopped: $0.75
  • 1 potato, peeled and chopped: $0.26
  • 1 head of broccoli, chopped: $0.50
  • 1 onion, chopped: $0.33
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped: $0.15
  • Seasonings: Let’s say about $0.25

=$3.46/8 servings

=$0.43/serving!

I have to say that I was annoyed to find that neither Trader Joe’s nor the local health-food store on the corner carry dry split peas!  I found them at the crappy grocery store, but they didn’t have barley (I was thinking of adding some cooked barley after blending, but it was fine without that).

Leave a Reply

