Image

Fried Tofu and Mashed Potatoes

The weather is getting wintry, plus I had a stressful week, but it was nothing that couldn’t be soothed with some mashed potatoes.

100_5113

First of all, it’s about time I blogged my famous fried tofu recipe.

I start by pressing my tofu.  This time around I used local company Central Soyfoods’s Garlic-Herb tofu.  Then I slice it and dip it in soy sauce or Braggs Liquid Aminos.  Then I dredge it in a mixture of equal parts corn starch and nutritional yeast.  Then I fry each side in some hot oil.  It’s that easy.

*I always make sure to fry extra for sandwiches.

If you’re vegan or veganish and  haven’t discovered the wonders of nutritional yeast yet, you’re missing out.  It may not sound delicious, but it IS!  It’s an inactive yeast flake that is packed with protein and B vitamins, both of which are important for vegans, but more importantly it has a rich, savory flavor that’s similar to parmesan cheese.  I love to sprinkle it on popcorn.  It’s also used in most vegan cheese substitute and scrambled tofu recipes.  In my fried tofu recipe it adds a punch of flavor not unlike chicken.  You can buy it in the bulk section of your local health-food store.

For my mashed potatoes I simply quartered a few Yukon Gold potatoes, put them in a pot of boiling water, along with a few cloves of garlic.  I cooked them for 20 minutes, then transferred them to a bowl, where I used a fork to mash them with a tablespoon of non-hydrogenated margarine (Earth Balance brand) and a drizzle of soy milk.  While mashing the potatoes, I used that same boiling water to cook some frozen green beans.

When my tofu was nice and golden brown on each side, I transferred it to a plate with a paper towel.  Then I used the same pan to make some onion gravy.  While the potatoes were boiling, I caramelized half an onion (sliced).  Then I mixed about a tablespoon of my cornstarch-nutritional yeast mixture with about a tablespoon of soy sauce (both leftover from dredging my tofu).  I added that to the pan, stirring constantly, then drizzled in soy milk a little bit at a time until I had a nice, smooth gravy.

  • 1/4 pound tofu: $0.75
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce: $0.18
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch: $0.03
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast: $0.15
  • 1 tablespoons canola oil: $0.03
  • 3 Yukon Gold potatoes: $0.33
  • 3 cloves garlic: $0.15
  • 1 tablespoon margarine: $0.13
  • 1/4 cup soy milk: $0.05
  • 1 serving green beans: $0.25
  • 1/2 onion: $0.12

=$2.17 for one VERY HEARTY meal!

I have to say that I can’t wait for the lingering daylight of summer (not to mention the fresh produce and warmer weather).  Food photos don’t look nearly as good when taken with artificial light.  I suppose the days will be getting longer again soon now.  I can’t wait.

2 responses to “Fried Tofu and Mashed Potatoes

  1. This was so good. Quick and easy and just the thing for a cool fall evening.

Leave a comment