Sandwich Challenge: Peanut Butter and Celery

Peanut butter is delicious ON celery, right?  So I figured: why not put peanut butter and celery in a sandwich together?

I’m glad I did.  It was a delicious new twist on an old favorite: just the kind of thing I’ve been looking for.  If you’re fancy, you could also add raisins or sunflower seeds.

  • 2 slices whole-grain bread: $0.25
  • 2 tablespoons all-natural peanut butter: $0.14
  • 1 stalk celery, diced: $0.12

=$0.51/sandwich

I paired this with:

  • 1 organic honeycrisp apple: $0.69
  • 4 ounces soy milk: $0.19

…which puts the total for yesterday’s nutritious lunch at:

$1.39!

…and it only took a couple of minutes to throw this together.  I don’t want to eat this all the time, though, so please help me think of more vegan sandwich ideas!

Leave a Reply

