GALentine’s Day: Pizza and Raspberry-Chocolate Truffle Brownies!

Since my sweet boyfriend is so far away and my neighbor’s husband had to work on Valentine’s evening, she suggested a Galentine’s Day celebration!  We had SO much fun!  She made a lovely vegan pizza:

She used dough from Trader Joe’s, Newman’s Own sauce, Daiya vegan cheeze, and topped it with garlic, onions, mushrooms, and kale.  I loved the idea of kale on pizza.  It got nice and crispy.  We enjoyed that with some salad, wine, and good conversation.

Then we watched the film Bridesmaids.

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!  I hope Melissa McCarthy gets the Oscar for best supporting actress.  It’s refreshing to finally see actresses in genuinely funny roles.

For dessert I had made these Raspberry-Chocolate-Truffle Brownies from the Post-Punk Kitchen:

http://www.theppk.com/2012/01/raspberry-truffle-brownies/

They taste decadent, but they’re actually low in fat and high in antioxidants (and easy to make)!  What more could a gal want?

  • 4 oz unsweetened chocolate: $1.60
  • 1/2 cup raspberry fruit spread: $0.87
  • 1/2 cup sugar: $0.08
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce: $0.33
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract: $0.40
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract: $0.10
  • 1 1/2 cups flour: $0.08
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder: $0.18
  • baking powder+soda+salt: about $0.01
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries: $0.83

=$4.48/12 brownies

=$0.37/brownie!

Wow!  I knew it was cheaper to bake at home, but I had no idea HOW cheap!  It’s easy to get sticker shock at the grocery store when you’re buying a whole bag of flour, bottle of vanilla extract, etc, but that stuff goes a LONG way!

I served these up with some Coconut Bliss Ice Cream.  That stuff is seriously good, definitely the most rich, creamy vegan ice cream you can buy at the store.  And I garnished it with a few fresh raspberries.

We also enjoyed some Red Velvet Cuppa Chocolate tea that her husband had bought for her:

It was really good.  I might have to buy some.

Then I talked to the BF on the phone.  He’s sending me some chocolates.  What a sweetie.  I’m so happy.  The best part is: I get to see him in San Francisco in just three short weeks!

Leave a Reply

