Vegan Across Missouri

I’m not naming any names, but a New York Times correspondent who called the Midwest a “vegetarian wasteland” was dead wrong, as exemplified by my recent road trip across the beautiful state of Missouri.  Before leaving Kansas City I had a lovely brunch with my Dad at Succotash.  I ordered the Vegan Kitchen Sink, a hearty hodgepodge of home fries, grilled portabellos, fresh spinach, the titular succotash, lima bean hummus, and fresh tomato slices.  This was the perfect thing before hitting the road: fresh but filling.

I also ordered coffee WITH soy milk!  And a fresh juice.  I chose the Ninja Sunrise: beets, carrots, ginger, and grapefruit.  Yum.

Dad was happy with their omnivorous options, but local vegans flock here.  I can’t wait to go back and try the vegan pancakes.  This former bar has a quirky charm with lots of local art on the walls.

That meal kept me satisfied for some time, but I did decide to stop at the halfway point of my trip for a sandwich and coffee.  Thanks to Google I had found Main Squeeze Natural Foods Cafe in Columbia, MO.

This is an all-vegetarian cafe with tons of vegan and gluten-free options.

I went with the TLT (tempeh, lettuce, and tomato).  It was nothing fancy but hit the spot.

Although the service could have been friendlier, this was a cute cafe with local art on the walls as well.  My favorite part was this weird cat guy photo montage.

I also got a yummy iced coffee with soy milk at Lakota coffee shop next door.  When I arrived in St. Louis I attended the bachelorette party of a good friend, and I was delighted to find that the hostess (who works in catering) had made special food for me!  There was a cheeseless pizza with lots of yummy veggies, including eggplant, zucchini, and roasted garlic.

She also made vegan brownies for dessert and vegan muffins for breakfast!  I loved what she said when I thanked her, “It wasn’t any extra trouble, especially since non-vegans can eat vegan food too!”  God bless her.

The next night we ate at a Vietnamese restaurant in St. Louis, called The Orient (the groom’s fave).  I ordered Tofu Spring Rolls:

…and also Lemongrass Tofu:

What I loved about this place was that the tofu was nice and crispy.

The same lady who hosted the bachelorette party also catered the wedding and made sure that I had a vegan meal of yummy pasta primavera!

There was a lot leftover too, which I took for the trip home.  It’s not hard at all to eat vegan in Missouri, especially when you have thoughtful friends like I do.

One response to “Vegan Across Missouri

  1. I LOVE Succotash!
    I’ve eaten at Main Squeeze before too; pretty tasty!

Leave a Reply

