Happy Pineapple-Upside-Down Cake Day!

Did you know that today is Pineapple-Upside-Down Cake Day?  I only found out when I saw it in my Facebook feed, thanks to Food.com.  I did make a vegan pineapple-upside-down cake for craft/potluck night a few weeks ago, just because it sounded good.  This is definitely comfort food; my Grandma makes it whenever we visit.

I used this method for the caramely syrup, but put everything in an 11 x 7″ rectangular pan.  My friend Kate did a BEAUTIFUL job of arranging the fruit, didn’t she?  Then I poured in this cake batter.

Pineapple-upside-down cake is seriously underrated, in my opinion.  The caramel-y flavors of the baked sugar syrup complement the citrus-y pineapple beautifully.  And don’t forget the cherries!

 

 

3 responses to “Happy Pineapple-Upside-Down Cake Day!

  1. Scott Lee Spence

    It’s even better when the edges of the cake get caramel crispy from the syrup. YUM!

  2. Reblogged this on Emerging Vegan Sistah and commented:
    Vegan Pineapple-Upside-Down Cake….Oh my!

Leave a Reply

